Frederick Arthur Anstee (b 1891)

by Gary. M. Ansteychief researcher of the Anstey story project.

Frederick Arthur Anstee, known as Fred, a member of the Christchurch, Monmouthshire Anstees, was born on 29 June 1891 in Christchurch to parents Granville Enoch Anstee and Emily Elizabeth Edwards. He grew up living at Farmwood Cottages, 6 Bolts Row, Chepstow Road, Newport and by the 1911 Census he was still living there, working for his father’s market gardening business.

Around a year after the outbreak of World War One, on 9 December 1915, Fred enlisted for service. At the time he was a market gardener living in Bishpool Village, Christchurch, and he was immediately placed with the Army Reserves (Service Number: TH/233545). Two days prior to his enlistment, Fred married Elizabeth Mcllquham, on 7 December 1915 in Newport – they had a son Frederick J. Anstee (b 4 August 1916).

Fred was actually mobilised on 31 August 1916 at Newport with the Royal Army Service Corps, serving throughout the war in England “Home Service Only” as a Driver. He was transferred to the 580th Horse Transport Company of the Royal Army Service Corps on 27 April 1918, still as a Driver.

According to his Discharge Documents, Fred’s only injury during the war was that he “sprained his left knee on 5 April 1919 whilst on duty carrying coal on fatigue, and slipped on stairs, disability deemed less than 20%“. For this injury he was treated at hospitals in Cambridge and Aldershot.

After the war ended, Fred was transferred to the ‘Class Z’ Army Reserves on 15 November 1919 and demobilised at Woolwich Dockyards. He then returned to live with his family in Christchurch, Newport.

By the 1939 Register Fred and his wife were living at 557 Chepstow Road, Newport – he was still a market gardener, incorrectly giving his birth date as 29 June 1892.

Fred died on 12 November 1956 still living at 557 Chepstow Road; administration was to his widow Elizabeth.

Anybody who would like to add anything to this biography, please contact us at

%d bloggers like this: